Pokemon: The Origin

Serving as a more faithful adaptation of the Pokémon Red and Blue games, the story follows a young boy named Red who begins a journey with his Pokémon partner, Charmander, as he seeks to capture all the known Pokémon in the Kanto region and become the Pokémon League Champion. Along the way he comes up against his rival, Blue (“Green” in Japan), various Pokémon Gym Leaders, and the nefarious crime organization, Team Rocket.

Now it’s my turn to review.

Pokemon Origins, it’s an amazing mini series that belongs at the top with other great anime mini series. What made me enjoy the series even more was it’s accuracy and faithfulness to the game. Pokemon Origins is about the adventures of young Red on his adventure to complete the task assigned to him by Professor Oak and in doing so, he becomes a Pokemon Master. He chose the fire starter, Charmander as his partner and this mini series goes on to show the growth of his bond with his Pokemon and the many challenges and hardships he faces while try to catch them all, become Pokemon League Champion and stop the nefarious schemes of Team Rocket.

The anime had a beautiful art style and I didn’t mind watching it in both Japanese and English. It was a really fun series to watch and I admit that I had watched it at least 4 or 5 times just in the hopes I caught every inch of the amazing story that it portrayed. As a kid who grew up with Pokemon Red and Blue, I feel that this series has done real justice to the games and shows a perfect portrayal of what the child and adult me imagined while playing the game.

It’s accuracy was really well maintained and that only goes to further my appreciation for it, from team rocket terrorising Mt. Moon to the Lapras you get given while on your rescue mission in the Silph. Co. The events with Marowak in the Pokemon Tower gave the story more depth, especially with the addition of back story, it definitely made for a tear jerking scene.

I loved the idea of the Pokemon used within the gym being based on the number of gym badges the trainer had and I love the character that they portrayed with Giovanni, including the a back story of Giovanni as a child that we could all relate to, it was truly an excellent masterpiece.

From me, this mini series gets a perfect score of 10 and the hopes that they will continue doing something like this for the next generation of games. That would be something that I would love to see.

Leave a comment